Tourist Visa To Schengen Countries

Schengen refers to all those countries in the European Union which have agreed upon the Schengen Agreement to abolish their International boarders. Currently the list includes 26 nations – Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Luxembourg, Czech Republic, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Iceland, Italy, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.   

Tourist Visa To Schengen Countries From GCC

Any foreign tourist from a country that does not have a visa-free entry arrangement with the Schengen countries needs a short-term Schengen tourist visa to travel through the area. The list of Schengen Countries covers most of the top tourist destinations in the EU. Hence the visa is extremely useful for tourists intending for a Europe visit. The visa is allocated in 4 categories.


  • Type C - Short Term Visa

    Generally, the visa allows a stay/ transit through the area for 90 days within a 6-month-period. It could either have single, double, or multiple entry permits.

  • Type A – Airport Transit Visa

    Any foreign passenger from non-Schengen countries who have to transit through or wait in any of the Airports in the area for connection flights from & to non-Schengen countries needs to apply for this Visa.

  • Type B - Transit Visa

    The visa is intended for travelers who need a short stay not longer than 5 days in the region.

  • Type D - National Long-Stay Visa

    The visa permits the holder to stay in the area for up to 1 year. During the period the person can stay in any Schengen area outside the Visa allotted Schengen country for a period of 90 days with 180 days.